“Pause and Be” so that you CAN Be Joyful and Productive

Experience Joy

The time I take every morning to just BE, to be fully present, is the key to the JOY I feel every day, the secret to my awesome productivity, and the sense of adventure I feel every day.   ~ Rich German

I’m always on the lookout for good ideas and great advice. I found it in an e-mail from Rick German, and I chose it as the quote for this post. Rich’s e-mail was expertly timed.

It was still dark outside when I woke up this morning. Everything was very quiet as I slipped out from under the blankets to enjoy some precious quiet time before the busy-ness of the day took hold. In my quiet time, the tick-tock of the antique clock and the coffee brewing provided lovely background sounds. I simply sat and enjoyed my surroundings and took the time to appreciate the cozyness of my home in autumn on this final morning before a busy 7-day  work trip. This morning was my relaxed version of “Pause and Be”.

My active version of “Pause and Be” is that I jump out of bed and immediately get ready for a morning 3-mile walk with a co-worker or my dog.This version is  refreshing, I soak in the beauty of nature and I am refreshed and invigorated for a productive day.

One of the joys of my life is that I make appreciation and simple routine a part of my life. It took time to learn the importance of slowing down. I have learned to pause at various times of the day – and to recognize that this 24-hour period, will only come around once – for better or for worse. Since I was a teenager, I’ve had a tendency to g0-g0-g0 (as my mom often reminded  me) in a blitz of activity. Adding some pauses in the day has multiplied my appreciation for ease and it leaves room for plenty of accomplishment.

My recommendation this week – Ask the people in your life who are happiest and most productive (you may be one of them) about their formula presence and productivity. Adopting their practice may enhance your success and add some punch to your day!

As always, I welcome your comments – and make it a great day!

~ Tess

Copyright 2012, Destiny Rising, LLC

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. quiltmastercurl62
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 07:47:18

    I love this post! It takes awhile for us all to realize that slowing down and enjoying the moment we’re in is so much better than worrying about the next one. The old saying,
    “Life is what happens while we’re making other plans” is so true. The older I get…I realize
    that each moment is precious, and as you say will not come around again. So I am trying
    really hard to savor each moment, each day, and be thankful for all the precious time I am given on this earth!

    Reply

    • tessdenton
      Oct 26, 2012 @ 04:25:38

      Thank you for your comment! As I read your comment and reflect on the post again,I am enjoying another one of those pre-dawn mornings where I am first up, and I have silence surrounding me (but wait… I hear my coffee in its final brewing moments.) I’ve just completed another “go-go-go” cycle, and I need this quiet morning to unpack my experiences of the past few weeks. If I don’t take this time to reflect on those weeks, I might not tune into the lessons that they hold. Your comment was a lovely way to start the day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

