There’s A Kind of Hush…

10, 9, 8, 7...

I used to think that every New Year’s Eve had to be spent making as merry as New Year’s Eve appears in movies. In movies, the stroke of midnight heralds the arrival of love long-awaited, love reignited and parties in Times Square. As I’ve moved about the country, and added a few years to the clock, New Year’s Eve is a different experience. It is still special, but its significance is different than it was when I was 20 and 30. It is now a time of review, appreciation and anticipation.

In the final week of 2011, I’ve initiated a kind of hush in my mind. Rather than looking at the list of self-imposed deadlines I’ve missed with regard to publishing, business building and lifestyle, I’ve made it a point to consider all that I’ve accomplished in 2011.  From this list, I am building my vision for 2012 – making notes on my key areas of focus, outcomes and achievement in 2012.

I invite you to do the same. Here is my recipe for New Year’s Eve 2011 (this exercise is as fresh on January 1 as it is on the December 31st, in case you’ve already gotten dressed for a fabulous night out):

Find your day planner or a calendar from 2011. Find a pad of paper and a pen. Once you’ve got all of these items in hand, Listen to some inspiring music. Start with energy, and then follow it up with some mellow music: Play the energy music as you review your calendar month by month. List your advances, accomplishments, endings and beginnings. Play the mellow music as you contemplate and write about what you’d like 2012 to bring to your life.

In case you’re looking for inspiring music in an instance, feel free to use the music I chose.  I simply loved it!  I selected a music selections  from my Favorites on You Tube. The two pieces are Beautiful and Before Man. The two pieces will provide 20 minutes of New Year’s Eve Hush that you’ll appreciate well into next year.

Enjoy your celebration. As  always, I welcome your comments

~ Tess

Copyright 2011

Destiny Rising, LLC

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol Debbout
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 07:42:58

    What a great idea! Yes…it is funny how our idea of New Years Eve changes. My oldest was probably not out at all. Her kids and husband have had the flu this holiday season. My next two were out at a bar listening to an inlaw’s band play and jam. My youngest went to Chicago for a concert, and probably got “wasted” (as she would put it). Mike and I went to our neighbors for prime rib dinner. What a treat! Good drinks, good food, and lots of stories.
    We were home by ten. As I look back on 2011, I can only say that it was a year of change.
    Good change that is. I am looking forward to a great 2012!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

    • prosperityseeker
      Jan 01, 2012 @ 08:34:47

      You comment almost reads like The Night Before Christmas 🙂 I hope that 2012 brings you and everyone you mentioned health, good fortune and happiness. ~ Tess

      Reply

Leave a Reply

