Be a Dreamer

This has been a particularly busy weekend, with a Visioning Client yesterday and the pilot of my newest workshop, “Vision/Decision” today. After a late night on Friday, and a day of heavy concentration yesterday, I intended to lay down for a one-hour nap. That nap ended up becoming a 4-hour sleep, with the decision to just give up any ideas of being productive and call it a night.

I’d intended to invest some time and energy creating concepts for a new project, but I was simply exhausted. I didn’t know how I was going to fit in all of the work I needed to get done if I caved in and opted for much-needed sleep. As I drifted back off to sleep, I grabbed a pen and a notebook. I had a sneaking suspicion that an idea or two might come to me since writing was on my mind. I managed to write down two ideas, and then I was out like a light.

Here’s where things got interesting. I awoke at 5:45 this morning, with an entire workshop worked out in my head. Truly – I sat in a chair in my living room and wrote out (by hand) every exercise and transition for this project.

I apparently needed a strong dose of my own philosophy – Having a project slow cook while I slept was an amazing reminder.
I generally interpret the “dreamer” label as something that takes place while awake, with at least a subconscious element to it. My nap was a wonderful example of dreaming something into reality.

I love dreaming in all forms: Night-dreaming, Day-dreaming, Life-dreaming. I recall that every machine, invention, beautiful piece of architecture, music and medical discovery started out as an idea – a dream of “what if”. Fueled by passion and expansion, dreams take root and become more than energy thought forms.

So, the next time you’re asked “why don’t you do something constructive?” look out the window, zone out or take a nap. Many times, it’s THE single most productive thing you can do!

Here’s my exercise of the week for you: Set a timer for 15 minutes at home or at work two times this week. Drift. See what results. Write back to me to let me know what happens for you 🙂

Copyright 2010 Destiny Rising, LLC

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Colleen
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 10:10:43

    Thank you for this – the perfect reminder at the perfect time!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment