Pretty Picture or Pretty Powerful? There’s a difference

A vision board can be a call to action, heralding a new era of self-expression for you. Some people are highly visual, and don’t naturally trend toward using words in their vision boards. As a highly verbal person, I find that my boards look as much like sonnets as they do pictures of how I’d like my life to look.

If you’d like to rev up your vision board and add some action… Make your board action oriented as well as visually appealing.

There is a term called “embedded commands”, which describes short, direct, action oriented statements. Embedded commands are frequently used in advertising, and they’ve been used for centuries. The Ten Commandments are embedded commands, in fact. Embedded commands move you to action.

Examples of embedded commands that may inspire you are:

Reach for the stars.

See the world.

Stage a comeback.

Be the change you want to see in the world.

Be a star.

Choose happiness.

Make an impact.

If you include a few inspiring statements such as this in your vision board, then each time you see it, the command will be reinforced. Repetition and reinforcement can create a thought habit for the changes you want to make in your life.

The action based embedded commands are powerful in their simplicity. They also keep you safely distanced from energy draining language. Review the list of embedded commands above, and compare them to these statements:

If I could find a way out of my crappy job, I’d be able to reach for the stars.

If I had more money, I might be able to finally see the world.

If I were so afraid that people would view me as a has-been, I’d make an effort to stage a comeback.

I’d like to make a difference in the world, but realistically, I doubt I could make it happen.

Once upon a time I wanted to be a star.

I wish I could be happy.

What can I do to make an impact?

Remember when you were in grade school and your teacher would drill your class about the parts of speech that make up sentences? Creating your action-based sentences is like taking all of the adverbs and adjectives, direct objects, and participle phrases out of the language, and using simple subjects and predicates, with limited nouns and verbs.

Keep it simple and your simple commands will help you make great changes.

Tip of the Week: Make a file of powerful words. Piece together words into phrases that have meaning to and that tell the story of what you’d most like to have happen in your future.
copyright 2010 Destiny Rising

Leave a Reply

